Home » Amazing Graze and Wine with Greg Landman » Shiraz Challenge 2016 Winners

Shiraz Challenge 2016 Winners

Shiraz Challenge 2016 Winners

With significant plantings in South Africa – about ten per cent of the total area under vines – Shiraz is second only to Cabernet Sauvignon when it comes to red varietals here.

The grape is delicious and has its fierce devotees. Usually quite intense with deep, dark-berry flavours and aromas, and some characteristic spice to give it oomph, Shiraz is often used in blends, adding its own personality to some of our favourite red blends. Don’t be confused by the use of the name Syrah – it’s the same thing.


There are some superb examples of this wine locally, a fact the annual Shiraz Challenge recognises. The competition is fierce to be included on the winners’ list as one can see by the inclusion of some of the best- known wine makers. The winners were announced at Rhebokskloof in May 2016.

The panel of judges consisted of a seasoned team of tasters under the leadership of Dr Andy Roediger assisted by Cathy van Zyl, South Africa’s first British Wine Master, Charles Hopkins, cellar master of De Grendel, Cape Wine Master Dave March, Francois Naudé, wine manager of Rhebokskloof, Pearl Oliver, wine manager of the Taj Hotel and Mark Norrish of Ultra Liquors. An eighth judge, Kiara Scott (one of the Cape Winemakers Guild protégés), was included in the panel for the purpose of gaining exposure and experience.


The Dream Dozen:

  • Alto Shiraz 2013
  • Babylonstoren Shiraz 2014
  • Cederberg Shiraz 2014
  • De Morgenzon Reserve Syrah 2014
  • Eagles’ Nest Shiraz 2013
  • Fairview Eenzaamheid Shiraz 2013
  • KWV The Mentors Shiraz 2013
  • KWV Laborie Limited Collection Shiraz 2014
  • Rickety Bridge Shiraz 2013
  • Saronsberg Shiraz 2014
  • Strandveld Syrah 2012
  • Windmeul Shiraz Reserve 2013
Shiraz SA 2016 Winners

Front left to right: Conrad Vlok (Strandveld), Johann Fourie (KWV) Middle l to r: Anthony de Jager (Fairview), Anelle van Tonder (Babylonstoren), Duncan Spence (Rickety Bridge), Hanneke Botha (De Morgenzon), Lana Dippenaar (Eikendal), Tammy Turck-Nel (Cederberg), Alvi van der Merwe (Alvi’s Drift). Back left to right: Du Toit Hoffman (Eagle’s Nest), Marco Ventrella (KWV), Bertho van der Westhuizen (Alto), Edmund Terblanche (Shiraz SA Chairperson), Johan Lourens (Berthomieu Ermitage), Abraham van Heerden (Windmeul), Tinnie Momberg (Middelvlei), Dewaldt Heyns (Saronsberg). Photographer: A Gorman Photography

Words: Greg Landman

Pictures: Supplied

More From Country Life

Send this to a friend