Home » Amazing Graze and Wine with Greg Landman » Shiraz Stars for 2017 Announced

Shiraz Stars for 2017 Announced

Shiraz Stars for 2017 Announced

A dozen remarkable Shiraz wines and three impressive Shiraz blends captured the limelight during the fifth annual Shiraz Challenge awards ceremony held on 31 May at the Rhebokskloof Wine Estate in Paarl.

Words by Greg Landman

According to SA Shiraz chairperson Edmund Terblanche, some 220 wines vied for inclusion in the top echelon – a steady climb of entries since the inception of the competition in 2013. “Initially we focused only on Shiraz, but soon after we invited winemakers to put forward their best blends as we see this competition as an encompassing celebration of Shiraz,” he says. “We’ve witnessed consistent growth in the blends category – not only for the Rhône style, but for all compositions where Shiraz remains the leading component.”


And 2017’s top Shiraz wines are:                           vintage

Cederberg Shiraz                                                                     2015

D’Aria The Soprano Shiraz                                                    2015

Eagle’s Nest Shiraz                                                                   2014

Fairview Beacon Shiraz                                                          2014

Fairview Swartland Shiraz                                                     2014

Flagstone Dark Horse Shiraz                                                2013

KWV Cathedral Cellar Shiraz                                                2015

La Motte Pierneef Syrah Viognier                                     2015

Rustenberg Buzzard Kloof Syrah                                       2015

Saronsberg Shiraz                                                                    2015

Strandveld Syrah                                                                      2013

Wildekrans Barrel Select Reserve Shiraz                        2015


Top 3 Shiraz blends:

Bellingham The Bernard Series SMV                                2014

Rustenberg Stellenbosch RM Nicholson                        2015

Saronsberg Full Circle                                                             2015


Judging line-up

Eight esteemed judges took responsibility for the stringent adjudication process, with Dr Andy Roediger at the helm.

The rest of the judging line-up included Charles Hopkins (De Grendel cellar master), Cathy van Zyl (British Master of Wine), Pearl Oliver (head sommelier at the Taj Hotel in Cape Town), Edmund Terblanche (La Motte cellar master and Shiraz SA chairperson), Samarie Smit (wine writer and editor of Die Burger: Versnit and regular judge at Veritas and the SA Young Wine Show) and Maryna Huysamen (Cape Wine Makers Guild protégé)

More From Country Life

Send this to a friend